Paris <3 An undying love for a beautiful city and culture

I haven’t written about my summer trip/adventure to Paris a few years ago but I thought I should. It was terrible, amazing, fun and terrifying.

However, the story really starts around 7 years ago in Canada when I had just finished my undergraduate studies. I went to this little town called Trois Rivieres in the province of Quebec. It`s also where I really started to learn French. I only meant to stay 4 months and then 2 years just flew by. I met so many people, many of whom I am still in touch with today and got caught up in the romantized French people and culture as most of my friends happened to be French exchange students.

When I first arrived, it was January 2008 so mountains of snow in a sleepy town and a seemingly empty university. I started taking French classes that semester and met a Parisian girl who I am still friends with today and always ask, `Why me?` I didn’t even speak French well. I would stop and start and stop and start so many times because I always hesitated on my phrases.

There were so many people I met who made such an impact on my life and helped me experience things that I wouldn`t have otherwise. It was a strange period in my life. I remember immense joy and then periods of immense sadness, times when I wanted to be surrounded by everyone and times when silence was all I wanted.

Anyway this was part 1. I will share a Trois Rivieres story soon

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    January 15, 2015 at 21:17

    I look forward to the next part


Leave a comment